top of page
Writer's pictureEmma Hibbert

Placement Year, Turn Baking Class.

Wow may have just gone a whole month without blogging. What have I been doing with my free time you ask? Absolutely nothing it may seem. I have however embarked on my last and final year of Brighton University. So as you can probably tell by now consistency of posts is not that great at the moment, and may get a little worst. However I am bulking out, bulking out enough to get a good amount of blog post to finally share this blog further and further. I'm restricted it to family at the moment, they are the biggest critics one can have, and tell me how I can improve, so if anyone has any comments on this then please by all means, let me know!

I will share a little think I have been getting more and more confident with. BAKING, and cooking? Since finally flying the nest, full time not uni time, I have been trying more and more new things, especially because my boyfriend just puts up with my weird cooking - if not he just has chicken and rice and lets me eat my exotic creations. Soooo, I thought for a very special occasion, the old mans birthday, I should put my weird and wonderful creations to the test. I have, after all, been watching a lot of cooking shows on Netflix, can I get a high five for the Nailed It show; must have watched the whole thing in a day... again I have been doing absolutely nothing. Back to the point in hand, I baked a cake, with a cookie centre.

Thats right, a victoria sponge cake with a cookie (the aim was millie's cookies). Possibly one of the best things I have created, food wise that is. I feel my creativity is best spent on fashion and illustration. Prepare yourself for the bold and wondrous creation I am about to share with you. It may not look like much, or that of a sinking ship but it was mine and i was oh so proud to create a little home made gift for my boyfriend (who may or may not have looked like a wolf at the time, what everyones opinion of beasty facial hair?) I have written for too long, behold... the cookie cake!

I have also added in a not so flattering picture of me. I literally had about 4 hours to by ingredients, bake the cake, let it cool and decorate it before i had to head off to work. This is me, pre extensions, trying to hide a mushroom hair cut and a pot belly. These images were taking in august, roughly a month and a half ago. Since then I have had extensions, which i will explain my choice in another blog post, i have started to eat healthy again so not feeling as uncomfortable as i did in this last picture. The sad part is I was so up for take the picture of me taking the picture because i want to show the background to everything I do. I want to be real and honest, regardless of whether i'm not looking my best that way, or if the feelings for my body nearly prevents me from posting a picture. So this is me in all of my glory. I am not the skinniest, nor the prettiest little mushroom in the bunch, but i am me. I have talents, and that out shines what i feel about my outside. It has taken me a while to accept myself, a lot of money on hair and make up as well, but i am happy with me.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page