top of page
Emma Jane

To Photo or not to Photo

One down, a million to go! At the moment I am basically just talking to myself, so I could literally type whatever I like and a max of ten people would read, it's beautiful.


The Complaint.



As I type my little turd is sat right next to me because I have one of her treats in my pocket, otherwise she would be outside barking her lungs out; I need just 10 minutes of peace to write at least one paragraph so the hot breath on the side of my face is worth it. She will love me for the next week though as I finally have a whole week off to do whatever I please, the thought is blissful. I think my last week off was somewhere in february when I jetted off to Amsterdam, one of the best weeks of my life. I would showcase some pictures however I seem to only have 3 as I completely forgot to partake in that aspect of a holiday. Some times I find that, for me, its 10 tens more satisfactory when you don't, as you are living in the moment and the memories you collect are so authentic compared to hundreds of photographs that may trigger false memories. Now don't misunderstand me when I say all of this. A picture can say one millions words, and there is nothing better than sitting with you're family and reminiscing over old times. But look at the word of instgram now-a-days, and from personal experience. Most of what is posted online is either fake or edited so far from their actual reality. The fact that there are youtube videos which explain how to make you bum 'pop' out on photos, knowing your angles, and how to turn just enough to one side and then tilt this way to make you look thinner. Now please ladies/gentlemen I can tell you I have watch 90% of these videos and they work. Ive got a little junk in the trunk (maybe a little too much that its overflowing and may need another trunk) so sometimes them angles are a must have. But why though, I mean I do like to look good (which gets the likes) but why do my pictures where I have no make up and me and elsy (the little pupper) are chilling on the sofa get next to none likes. That is my authentic self, that is who I am when I am behind the camera, that is the person which is bringing you entertainment in the form photography, art, blogging and many more things. So why is she not liked as much as the one which is created with the pout and curled hair? Why is it that some are criticised for posting images like that? Some times its not so much the criticism that is the issue but its the thought like if she only tweezers her eyebrows she could be prettier. I wish to live in a world were we aren't referring to people as the fat one, instead we should be praising all that we are and all that we aspire to be.


The story behind.


This post was inspired by my morning trip to Tesco, for a little shop as I am so poor this week. I rocked up in a crop top and jeans, now I do have a little back fat, I am conscience of this but it was mild, I wanted to be cool. But the whole time I was trying to stretch my top down and pull my, already extremely high waisted, jeans up. No comments where made, but I felt like I had to be the one to cover up, I felt like I was the disgusting one. It's not like I'm unfit. I have been doing pilates on and off for years, recently starting to do it every day again. On a side note you have to try Cassey Ho's Blogilates, INcredible! She is fun and positive and its just an all round fabulous experience! ANYWAY, so I was focused on that fact that my little back chub was peaking to say hello, instead of what I was accomplishing of being I was being a strong independent WOmen - I forgot a pound to get a trolly so I was carrying that basket on one arm like a boss, not even a bead of sweat dripping from me. Not only carrying this around tescos but home as well. To them clean my entire down stairs and make it glow again, to then treating myself to a little jam on toast and a cuppa; how very English of me. So all in all I actually accomplished a lot but I always had this niggling little feeling of that junk I am carrying.







11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page